www.icppr.com / 4: Upcoming Events / 4.1: Past Events > MINUTES OF THE ICPPR BUSINESS MEETING


April 20, 2018, 13.30 pm, Salle Rousseau, Botanical Garden, Berlin, Germany

Prof Peter Kevan, Chair of ICPPR, gave a general update on the successful organization of the XI International Symposium on Pollination in Berlin and the updates on the working of ICPPR for encouraging research in pollinator and pollination related aspects in different continents. Dr Kevan expressed his desire to relinquish from the position of Chair, ICPPR and wish to continue in the position for one more year. On behalf of the ICPPR, Dr Carlos Vergara sincerely recognized Dr Kevan?s efforts and contributions for the growth and development of ICPPR.  The members greatly appreciated and expressed gratitude for the dedication in building ICCPR and also sought his suggestions and interventions in the future for the overall development and progress of the commission.

The following items were discussed during the Business meeting:

  • ICPPR name: It was reminded that the name of the Commission was changed in 2011 from ICPBR (Plant-Bee) to ICPPR (Plant-Pollinator) to include a wider arrange of topics and fields in Pollination. However, the change has never been made official or in writing. The Statutes need to be updated accordingly.
  • ICPPR Membership: Dr Kevan announced that the Membership is open for those who are interested the aims and objectives of the Commission and the membership is free. However, the interested persons must send the Membership application form to the ICPPR for enrolment.
  • ICPPR office bearers: Our Statutes (and as amended in the past by electronic consultation and voting by the general membership) indicate that ICPPR has One president, 2 Vice-Presidents, and a Secretary-Treasurer (or one Secretary and one Treasurer if deemed practical, but this would need to be modified in the Statutes and will be decided by the Council following the meeting in Berlin).
  • New Council & Executive for ICPPR: The Council membership needs to be revitalized. The Council consists of 20 members, some of whom are retired and some have been inactive. The Executive, which is elected by the Council, comprises of 4-5 people (depending on having a Secretary and a Treasurer or a Secretary-Treasurer). Peter Kevan has been the President for at least 10 years and he wants to step down, so nominations need to be made in order to elect the new President.
    Some of the members? terms have expired, so elections need to be conducted online for revision of the Council and Executive shortly. Dr Peter Kevan mentioned that Dr. Carlos Vergara is willing to be considered for President of ICPPR and that Dr V. Sivaram wishes to be considered to continue as secretary of ICPPR. However, it must be considered that all positions on the Executive and the Council must result from democratic elections. A call for nominations to the Council will be issued in the following weeks.
  • Next International Symposium on Pollination: It was decided to hold the next symposium every 3 years instead of 4 years. There are several countries willing to host the next Pollination Symposium including China, India, Germany and Greece. The next symposium will be decided by the ICPPR Council after considering Members? preferences and various issues for assurance of the success of the next IPS.
  • Inviting Journalists: As per the suggestions by the Members, it was decided to invite printed and electronic Media to report on the symposium deliberations so as to reach to the general public about the importance of pollinators and their conservation. The Executive will solicit help for this activity.
  • Journal of Pollination Ecology: JPE is the official journal of the ICPPR. It was suggested that IPS participants submit papers to JPE for publication. The Commission is in the process of getting DOI numbers for papers published in JPE and will consider how JPE may obtain an Impact factor.
  • Bank Audits and Statements There is a need to change the signatories for the bank account. Also, it was decided to have a Treasurer or Financial Officer of the commission from Ontario for managing bank accounts effectively.
  • Working Groups: There was an explanation on how the Working Groups are formed and how do they function.
  • ICPPR Incorporation: Peter suggested that the Commission should be incorporated, to comply with banking and tax regulation and to make the accounting easier. The incorporation would make ICPPR a non-for-profit organization. He will look into the procedure to incorporate the Commission in Canada.
  • Acknowledgements: The ICPPR greatly acknowledges the efforts of Dr Jens Pistorius, Institute of Bee Protection, Federal Research Centre for Cultivated Plants, Berlin, Germany and Member of the Organizing Committee of the XI ISP for the local coordination of the symposium. ICPPR extends its sincere thanks to the International Union of Biological Sciences (IUBS) for financial support for organizing the XI ISP. The special thanks to the authorities of the Botanical Garden, Berlin for providing excellent meeting facilities and cooperation; The catering team during the symposium for wonderful arrangements. The ICPPR offer thanks to all the collaborators / supporters-  Universidad de las Americas Puebla, University of Guelph, Julius Kühn Institut for local coordination and the Arthur Dobbs Institute for financial and logistic support.

The ICPPR also acknowledges and extends sincere thanks to The Symposium Chairs - Dr Carlos H. Vergara, Dr Peter Kevan and Dr Jens Pistorius; the other members of the organizing committee - Dr Patricia Nunes-Silva, Dr Gordon W. Frankie, Dr Marcia Motta Maués and Dr Vernon Thomas. The Commission also appreciates and extends thanks to the Scientific Committee members ? Dr Arnon Dag, Dr Breno Freitas, Dr Yuval Sapir and Dr Casper van der Kooi for their efforts in making the symposium programme a great success.

Finally, Carlos Vergara highlighted the outstanding job done by Peter as President of the Commission and asked to acknowledge his work by giving him an applause that became a standing ovation that lasted for at least three minutes.